What if...

... will have more bills coming in?
Please have your provider submit all crime related
medical claim forms for payment consideration
within 12 months from the date of service. However,
after 18 months if there is no activity, your claim will
be closed.

... have medical insurance?

The State Office of Victim Assistance is the payer of
last resort. If the victim has insurance and elects not
to use his/her insurance for treatment, SOVA will not
cover the cost. It is the provider’s responsibility to
ensure that other avenues of payment are explored
and used.

...my property was damaged in the crime?
SOVA cannot pay for any property that is
damaged, unless it is a medically necessary item
such as a pair of eyeglasses or a walking cane.
SOVA can pay foritems that a doctor prescribes for
recovery purposes, such as a wheelchair or
crutches.

...k have been in a car accident?

If the accident is considered criminal, that is, if the
other driver is charged with a crime such as Hitand
Run, Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Reckless
Homicide, then you may be eligible.

...I do not qualify?

If you do not qualify, you will be notified that your
claim has been denied and you will receive a
packet of information describing how to appeal
SOVA's decision.

... wish to appeal a decision?

If you wish to appeal, follow the instructions in the
“appeal packet” and send it to SOVA within 30
days.
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Has a crime against you or
a family member cost...

medical or dental care?
mental health counseling?
lost wages from missed work?

funeral or burial expenses?

If you can answer “yes”
to any question above,
then we may be able

to help you

pick up
the pieces...

State Office of Victim Assistance

Edgar Brown Building, Room 401
1205 Pendleton Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Phone: 803.734.1900 o Fax; 803.734.1708
Business hours victim [ine: 800.220.5370

Click on www.sova.sc.gov for
Payment & Reimbursement at a Glance

What you need to know about...

Crime Victims’
Compensation

If you
have been

injured by
violence,
we may be
able to
help you
put the
pieces back
together.

SOVA

South Carolina State Office of Victim Assistance




What is Crime Victims’ Compensation Fund?

The South Carolina Crime Victims’
Compensation Fund is a financial assistance pro-
gram designed to help victims with expenses directly
resulting from a crime that are not covered by other
payment sources. It is administered by the State
Office of Victim Assistance (SOVA), and is
governed by state and federal laws. If you
qualify for the program, it can pay certain costs for
recovery treatment or burial arrangements up to
the maximum allowed by law.

Do | automatically get paid as a crime victim?

No. When the application is sent to SOVA, your
eligibility is determined by laws that govern the
compensation fund. SOVA tries hard to help an
eligible victim qualify under the law.

If | qualify, what can you pay?

SOVA can help with certain types of crime related
costs. In every case, the expense has to be linked
to losses from injury or death as a result of the
crime.

*Up to a combined total of $15,000 for:

Medical Costs

+ Doctor ordered medicine, equipment, supplies
and treatment

+ Dental or orthodontic work

«+ Other costs such as physical rehabilitation,
reconstructive surgery, and transportation
(mileage) to doctor appointments

Counseling (from a licensed professional)

+ Clinician must confirm that trauma resulted
from the crime

+ Payment is based on fee schedule

Burial bills for a deceased victim

+ Reimbursement limit is $4000

+ Some funeral costs may not be covered
+ Copy of Death Certificate is required

Lost Wages / Loss of Support

If you have not been able to work for at least two

weeks in a row because of your injuries or to take

care of a victim, then you may be eligible for Lost

Wages or Loss of Support payments.

+ You may be eligible if you are the victim, the

victim’s dependent or spouse

+ Please call our office to see if you are eligible

for Loss of Support payments

What doesn’t SOVA pay?

SOVA cannot pay for property damage (to include
crime scene cleanup or items taken as evidence),
any expenses related to going to court (to include
legal fees or transportation), or “pain and
suffering.”

When will | know if | qualify?

After you have sent us the application you will be
notified by us that you are eligible or ineligible.
If you are eligible you will receive a “Notice of
Award” that will list how much SOVA is going to
pay on the bills you submitted. You may receive
many of them while your claim application is active.

Do family members qualify?

If one of your immediate family
members is a victim, you may qualify for counseling
or receive a percentage of your wages if you request
to stay out of work to take care of him/her. If you
paid the funeral bill for a family member who was a
victim, you may be eligible to receive up to $4,000.

Is SOVA in the same office as my advocate?

No. Yourvictimadvocateis probablyinyourowncounty
or community. SOVA is a state level governmental
office located in Columbia. But, SOVA still works
closely with advocates, service providers, and
others who help victims across the state.

Will law enforcement be involved with my

claim?

Yes. Law enforcement will be contacted to
confirm the facts of the case and provide additional
information. Your claim cannot be processed
without a copy of the law enforcement incident
report.

Is the program paid for by taxpayers?

No, the program is funded by fines, fees and
assessment funds.



